Skip to content
How to use Judgment tools
  1. Click Tools to open PDF, Print, Tag, Note, Favourite, and CiteSignal.
  2. Use Brief & Ask in the toolbar for the AI Brief and case chat.
  3. Jump to sections with the pills below the help bar.

Delhi Development Authority Vs. Dhani Ram Kapoor

Delhi Development Authority vs Dhani Ram Kapoor

Disposition Appeal dismissed Court Delhi Decided Nov 20, 1998
~3 min read
https://sooperkanoon.com/case/705739

For advocates & juniors · 7-day free trial

Brief this judgment before chambers

Stop skimming 50 pages - get an 18-section AI Brief on this case, ask scoped follow-ups, and find related precedents with Semantic Search. Full trial, no card required.

  • 18-section brief - facts, issues, ratio, relief
  • Ask this case - answers cite the judgment
  • Semantic search - find precedents by meaning
  • Research drawer - sections, cites, related cases

No card required · credentials emailed · Log in if you already have an account

Citation
Court
Delhi High Court
Judge
Decided On
Case Number
L.P.A. No. 128 of 1998
Subject
Property
Disposition
Appeal dismissed

Case Summary

AI-generated summary - not the official court judgment text.

Housing Allotment--Cancellation on account of delay in submission of required documents--The requirement of submission of documents is not mandatory--Cancellation on account of delay is not sustainable. - LABOUR & SERVICES Disability Pension: [Vikramajit Sen, Sanjiv K...

Key legal issue
Property
Outcome / disposition
Appeal dismissed

Parties & Advocates

Appellant / Petitioner

Delhi Development Authority

Advocate Ruchi Grover, Adv

Respondent

Dhani Ram Kapoor

Advocate R.K. Saini, Adv.

Legal References

Cases Referred
Asha N. Madnani v. D.
Reported In
1999(49)DRJ717

Excerpt

.....fourthly, since travel to and fro the place of posting may not appear to everyone as an incident of military service, a specific provision has been incorporated in the pension regulations to bring such travel within the entitlement for disability pension if an injury is sustained in this duration. fifthly, it cannot be said that each and every injury sustained while availing of casual leave would entitle the victim to claim disability pension. sixthly, provisions treating casual leave as on duty would be relevant for deciding questions pertaining to pay or to the right of the authorities to curtail or cancel the leave. lastly, injury or death resulting from an activity not connected with military service would not justify and sustain a claim for disability pension. this is so regardless f whether the injury or death has occurred at the place of posting or during working hours. this is because attributability to military service is a factor which is required to be established. - having made the payments -all and in time -it is primarily the allottee who suffers by his failure to furnish the documents and proof of payments. before parting with the judgment we would like to record our appreciation for the ability with which the learned counsel for the appellant argued the matter......default in filing of the documents (having no material bearing or eligibility or qualification for allotment) and proof of payments within the prescribed period the considerations are different. even the respondent-dda is aware of the payment having been made. it is merely a question of convenience that allottee is required to furnish proof of payment so that collective information as to payments is available at one place and the d.d.a. is not required to scan its records time and again in respect of each allottee. having made the payments - all and in time - it is primarily the allottee who suffers by his failure to furnish the documents and proof of payments. execution of lease and delivery of possession to the allottee would be delayed in spite of his having parted with money and the flat lying ready for delivery of possession. situation may be different if third party interest or any other similar factor has intervened which would render it inequitable or impossible to accommodate the allottee on his original allotment.'3. thus, the plea of the learned counsel for the appellant does not hold water and is accordingly rejected. before parting with the judgment we would like to record our appreciation for the ability with which the learned counsel for the appellant argued the matter.4. the appeal is dismissed.

Full Judgment

Anil Dev Singh, J.

1. This is a Letters Patent Appeal against the judgment of the learned Single Judge dated January 10, 1997. The only point of dispute in the present appeal is as to whether allotment of a flat in the name of the writ petitioner (respondent herein) was liable to be cancelled on the ground of delay in submission of the relevant documents along with proof of payment to the appellant-Delhi Development Authority within the prescribed period of ninety days from the date of issue of the letter of allotment. There is no dispute that the petitioner had made full payment for the flat to the appellant. As per the stand of the appellant the respondent was required to submit the documents to it by August 1, 1990 but the same were submitted on November 16, 1990. Learned counsel for the appellant submits that the delay in submission of the documents entails cancellation of the allotment of the flat. The same submission was made before the learned Single Judge which was rejected by him.

2. We do not find any infirmity in the order of the learned Single Judge. The term as to deposit of documents within a particular period of time cannot be held to be mandatory in nature especially when the entire payment for the flat has been made by an allottee to the D.D.A. The same point as has been raised in the instant petition by the appellant was the subject-matter of decision of the Division Bench of this Court in Asha N. Madnani v. D.DA. 1997 I AD (Del) 385. The Division Bench while considering the said question held as follows :-

'In case of a mere default in filing of the documents (having no material bearing or eligibility or qualification for allotment) and proof of payments within the prescribed period the considerations are different. Even the respondent-DDA is aware of the payment having been made. It is merely a question of convenience that allottee is required to furnish proof of payment so that collective information as to payments is available at one place and the D.D.A. is not required to scan its records time and again in respect of each allottee. Having made the payments - all and in time - it is primarily the allottee who suffers by his failure to furnish the documents and proof of payments. Execution of lease and delivery of possession to the allottee would be delayed in spite of his having parted with money and the flat lying ready for delivery of possession. Situation may be different if third party interest or any other similar factor has intervened which would render it inequitable or impossible to accommodate the allottee on his original allotment.'

3. Thus, the plea of the learned counsel for the appellant does not hold water and is accordingly rejected. Before parting with the judgment we would like to record our appreciation for the ability with which the learned counsel for the appellant argued the matter.

4. The appeal is dismissed.

Continue Your Research


AI Briefs · Semantic Search · Save & annotate judgments

Start your 7-day free trial