Skip to content
How to use Judgment tools
  1. Click Tools to open PDF, Print, Tag, Note, Favourite, and CiteSignal.
  2. Use Brief & Ask in the toolbar for the AI Brief and case chat.
  3. Jump to sections with the pills below the help bar.

G. C. Santhoshkumar vs the General Manager Cum Owner

G. C. Santhoshkumar vs The General Manager Cum Owner

Type Court Judgment Court Karnataka Decided Apr 28, 2026
~6 min read
https://sooperkanoon.com/case/1540665

For advocates & juniors · 7-day free trial

Brief this judgment before chambers

Stop skimming 50 pages - get an 18-section AI Brief on this case, ask scoped follow-ups, and find related precedents with Semantic Search. Full trial, no card required.

  • 18-section brief - facts, issues, ratio, relief
  • Ask this case - answers cite the judgment
  • Semantic search - find precedents by meaning
  • Research drawer - sections, cites, related cases

No card required · credentials emailed · Log in if you already have an account

Citation
Court
Karnataka High Court
Judge
Decided On
Case Number
MFA/3275/2019

Parties & Advocates

Appellant / Petitioner

G. C. Santhoshkumar

Respondent

The General Manager Cum Owner

Excerpt

.....‘the tribunal’).2. smt.bhushani kumar, learned counsel appearing for the appellant submits that the tribunalcommitted a grave error in ignoring the oral and documentary evidence on record. it is submitted that cw1 clearly deposed before the tribunal that the appellant sustained a head injury, left black eye and other injuries. cw1 further deposed that the hearing capacity of the appellant's right ear was reduced by 70% and assessed the disability at 40% to the entire body. however, without assigning any justifiable reason, the tribunal assessed the-3- disability at only 7% and awarded meager compensation under all other heads. hence, she seeks to allow the appeal.3. per contra, sri.k.nagaraja, learned counselappearing for the respondent/corporation supports the impugned judgment and award of tribunal and submits that cw1, being a neurologist, has no competence to speak with regard to the hearing difficulty faced by the appellant. therefore, the tribunal has rightly assessed the disability and awarded just compensation and there is no scope for enhancement. hence, he seeks to dismiss the appeal.4. i have heard the arguments on the both sides and meticulously perused the material available on record.5. the material on record indicates that theappellant met with a road accident on 11.04.2012, which occurred due to the actionable negligence of the driver of the respondent's bus thereby fastening liability on the -4- respondent/corporation to pay compensation. the records further indicate that the appellant was provided treatment at district hospital, mandya, nimhans hospital at bengaluru and apollo bgs hospital at mysore. the evidence of cw1, the wound certificate and other medical records indicate that the appellant sustained the following fractures and injuries: "a) severe head injury. b) left anterior cranial fossa fracture. c) fracture of posterior wall of frontal sinus. d) left black eye."6. the records indicate that the appellant.....

Full Judgment

-1-

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KARNATAKA AT BENGALURU

DATED THIS THE 28TH DAY OF APRIL, 2026 BEFORE THE HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE VIJAYKUMAR A. PATIL MISCELLANEOUS FIRST APPEAL NO.3275/2019 (MV-I) BETWEEN: G.C. SANTHOSHKUMAR S/O CHANDRASHEKAR AGED ABOUT 33 YEARS R/AT OPPOSITE TO SEETHARAMANJANEYA RICE MILL GUTHALU, MANDYA CITY. Digitally signed …APPELLANT by RUPA V (BY SMT. BHUSHANI KUMAR, ADV.,) Location: HIGH COURT OF AND: KARNATAKA THE GENERAL MANAGER CUM OWNER OF KSRTC BUS BEARING NO. KA-09-F-4022 AND INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE CO, LTD., K.S.R.T.C. K.H.DOUBLE ROAD, SHANTHINAGARA BENGALURU HAVING DIVISION OFFICE AT MANDYA K.S.R.T.C. BUS DEPOT, M.C.ROAD MANDYA. …RESPONDENT (BY SRI. K. NAGARAJA, ADV.,) THIS MFA IS FILED U/S 173(1) OF MV ACT AGAINST THE

JUDGMENT AND AWARD DATED:30.06.2018 PASSED IN MVC

NO.933/2012 ON THE FILE OF THE II ADDITIONAL SENIOR CIVIL JUDGE AND MACT, MANDYA, PARTLY ALLOWING THE -2- CLAIM PETITION FOR COMPENSATION AND SEEKING ENHANCEMENT OF COMPENSATION. THIS APPEAL, COMING ON FOR FINAL HEARING, THIS DAY, JUDGMENT WAS DELIVERED THEREIN AS UNDER: CORAM: HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE VIJAYKUMAR A. PATIL

ORAL JUDGMENT

This appeal is filed by the injured appellant challenging the judgment and award dated 30.06.2018 passed in MVC.No.933/2012 by the II Additional Senior Civil Judge and MACT, Mandya (for short ‘the Tribunal’).

2. Smt.Bhushani Kumar, learned counsel appearing for the appellant submits that the Tribunal

committed a grave error in ignoring the oral and documentary evidence on record. It is submitted that CW1 clearly deposed before the Tribunal that the appellant sustained a head injury, left black eye and other injuries. CW1 further deposed that the hearing capacity of the appellant's right ear was reduced by 70% and assessed the disability at 40% to the entire body. However, without assigning any justifiable reason, the Tribunal assessed the

-3- disability at only 7% and awarded meager compensation under all other heads. Hence, she seeks to allow the appeal.

3. Per contra, Sri.K.Nagaraja, learned counsel

appearing for the respondent/Corporation supports the impugned judgment and award of Tribunal and submits that CW1, being a neurologist, has no competence to speak with regard to the hearing difficulty faced by the appellant. Therefore, the Tribunal has rightly assessed the disability and awarded just compensation and there is no scope for enhancement. Hence, he seeks to dismiss the appeal.

4. I have heard the arguments on the both sides and meticulously perused the material available on record.

5. The material on record indicates that the

appellant met with a road accident on 11.04.2012, which occurred due to the actionable negligence of the driver of the respondent's bus thereby fastening liability on the -4- respondent/Corporation to pay compensation. The records further indicate that the appellant was provided treatment at District Hospital, Mandya, NIMHANS Hospital at Bengaluru and Apollo BGS Hospital at Mysore. The evidence of CW1, the wound certificate and other medical records indicate that the appellant sustained the following fractures and injuries: "a) Severe head injury. b) left anterior cranial fossa fracture. c) fracture of posterior wall of frontal sinus. d) Left black eye."

6. The records indicate that the appellant was

treated as an inpatient from 12.04.2012 to 18.04.2012 for a period of 8 days. As per the evidence of CW1, he is of the opinion that the appellant has lost hearing capacity of the right ear to the extent of 70% and considering the head injuries, the disability has been assessed at 40% to the whole body. In my considered view, the Tribunal without any justifiable reason concluded that the disability was only 7%. It is not in dispute that CW1 is a neurosurgeon and he would have spoken only with regard

-5-

to the head injuries sustained by the appellant. It is to be noticed that CW1, being a senior doctor has opined that the head injury resulted in a reduction of hearing capacity to the extent of 70% and, on that basis, assessed the whole body disability at 40%. In my considered view, the same is required to be accepted in the absence of any contrary evidence before the Court. Having reassessed the disability at 40%, I am of the view that the income assessed by the Tribunal at Rs.7,500/- per month is appropriate as the injured claimed that he was working as an auto driver, which is substantiated by the production of a valid driving licence. It is not in dispute that the claimant was aged about 24 years at the time of the accident; hence, the appropriate multiplier would be 18, which has been rightly considered by the Tribunal. Having reassessed

the disability of the appellant/claimant, the appellant/claimant is entitled to compensation under the head of loss of future income due to disability as under: -6- 7,500/- x 12 x 18 x 40% = Rs.6,48,000/-

7. The award of compensation by the Tribunal

under the heads of medical expenses & future medical expenses and loss of income during laid-up period remains unaltered. However, having reassessed the disability and taking note of the oral evidence of CW1 and documentary evidence, I am of the considered view that the compensation awarded by the Tribunal under other heads is required to be reassessed by appropriately enhancing the same. The appellant is entitled to the modified compensation as under: HEADS AMOUNT (in Rs.) Pain & suffering 40,000 Loss of amenities 40,000 Medical expenses and Future medical 1,24,322 expenses Loss of income during laid-up period 22,500 (Rs.7,500 X 3) Loss of future income due to disability 6,48,000 Towards conveyance, attendant charges, 20,000 food and nourishment Total 8,94,822 -7- Thus, the appellant-claimant shall be entitled to total compensation of Rs.8,94,822/- as against Rs.3,16,022/- awarded by the Tribunal.

8. In the result, this Court proceeds to pass the following:

ORDER

a) Appeal stands allowed in part. b) The impugned judgment and award of the Tribunal is modified to an extent that the appellant-claimant would be entitled to total compensation of Rs.8,94,822/- as against Rs.3,16,022/- awarded by the Tribunal. c) The enhanced compensation amount shall carry interest at the rate of 6% per annum from the date of petition till the date of payment excluding the interest for the delayed period of 151 days as per the order dated 22.08.2023. -8-

d) The respondent/Corporation shall deposit the enhanced compensation amount with accrued interest before the Tribunal within a period of six weeks from the date of receipt of certified copy of this judgment. e) The apportionment, deposit and disbursement shall be made as per the award of the Tribunal. f) Draw modified award accordingly.

Sd/- (VIJAYKUMAR A. PATIL) JUDGE ABK List No.: 1 Sl No.: 20

Continue Your Research


AI Briefs · Semantic Search · Save & annotate judgments

Start your 7-day free trial